December 6, 2021

Woody Woodworking

and its tools

How to Make a Spoon Mule with Fred Esker

2 min read

We join Fred Esker at his woodshop to capture and enjoy building a Spoon Mule.
See also Fred’s video on How to Carve Wooden Spoons on a Spoon Mule: https://youtu.be/ZClIRx16-TM

Be sure to use proper safety equipment and follow best shop safety practices.
While filming we follow all local health and safety recommendations – including masks when social distancing isn’t possible.

Video Production Date: July 30, 2021.

0:00 How to Make a Spoon Mule with Fred Esker
0:57 Hardware
1:07 The Mule Bench
3:07 The Mule Back Leg
6:39 The Mule Front Legs
18:42 The Mule Seat
20:43 The Mule Head
26:09 The Mule Clamp Axle Wire & Mule Head Assembly
28:31 The Mule Clamp Sticks
32:55 The Mule Clamp Spacers
33:22 The Mule Head Wedge
34:19 Rounding Edges, Faces & Rasping Pockets
35:34 Conclusion
35:42 End

Spoon Mule Cut List
Qty
3: 2in X 6in X 8ft Lumber (Benches & Legs)
1: 2in X 10in X 4ft or 8ft Lumber for Mule Head Top & Seat: 11in X 16in X 1-1/2in Thick & Rounded.
1: 2in X 6in X 5-1/2in Seat Stem
2: 1in X 1-1/4in X 8 ft , 4ft or 6ft Length – Poplar Lumber for Legs
1: Coat Hanger Wire, or #9 Galvanized Gauge Wire
2: Clamp Sticks: 1-1/4in W X 3/4in Thick X Self-determined length based on Mule Head Height from user height.
2: Clamp Spacers: 1-1/4in X 2-1/2in X 5/16in, 1/4in or 3/8in Thick
1: Poplar Wedge: 3/4in Stock: 7in L X 1/2in Lower End X 1-1/4 Higher End
2: Galvanized Carriage Bolts 3/8in-16 X 5in LG.
2: Galvanized Carriage Bolts 3/8in-16 X 8in LG.
4: Galvanized Washers 3/8in
4: Galvanized Nuts 3/8in-16
1: Box of 3in LG Phillips Head Dry Wall/Deck Screws
1: 3/8in Diameter long bit: https://www.woodcraft.com/products/fisch-3-8-inch-x-10-inch-long-high-speed-steel-brad-point-drill-bit
1: 1in Diameter forstner bit: https://www.woodcraft.com/products/wave-cutter-1-dia-x-3-8-x-3-1-2-oal
1: 1/4in Diameter brad point bit: https://www.woodcraft.com/products/1-4-sxt-brad-point-drill-bit-montana

Tools Used in this video:
WoodRiver Bevel Gauge: https://www.woodcraft.com/products/woodriver-bevel-gauge
Flat Square: https://www.woodcraft.com/products/bon-tools-flat-square-24-x-16
WoodRiver Shoulder Plane:https://www.woodcraft.com/products/woodriver-92-medium-shoulder-plane
Ripping Saw: https://www.woodcraft.com/products/lynx-wclr26-ripping-saw-26-x-4-1-2-tpi
Band Saw: https://www.woodcraft.com/categories/bandsaws
Drill Press: https://www.woodcraft.com/categories/drill-presses
Ryoba Saw: https://www.woodcraft.com/products/harima-ryoba-saw-210mm-with-canvas-cover
Flush Cut Saw: https://www.woodcraft.com/products/japanese-kugihiki-flush-cutting-hand-saw
Coping Saw: https://www.woodcraft.com/products/groz-coping-saw-frame
Butt Chisel: https://www.woodcraft.com/products/pfeil-swiss-made-butt-chisel-12mm-1-2
F-Clamp: https://www.woodcraft.com/products/bessey-12-f-style-clamp
Handscrew Clamp: https://www.woodcraft.com/products/pinnacle-12-handscrew-clamp
Cordless Drill: https://www.woodcraft.com/categories/handheld-drills-drivers
Files & Rasps: https://www.woodcraft.com/categories/files-rasps
Wood Mallet: https://www.woodcraft.com/products/crown-mallet-beechwood-20-oz-4-1-2-head
Beam Compass: https://www.woodcraft.com/products/rotape-beam-compass for 11in seat curves.

Woodworking News Source: Woodcraft

How To Write Articles For Your blog


Automatically write articles for your blog.

Do you need a reporter to write articles for your website?

Are you a article writer and need to boost your production?

Does it take you forever to write articles for your website?

Need to write post for your blog, or other social media?

Let a AI write all types of articles for you. News articles, product reviews, product articles, social media, any type of article.
AI will do the work for you and learn to write better articles every time you use it!
5 Day free Trial! Get it now Article Forge